Now based in the USA, Ashton Nyte is a South African-born composer, singer, multi-instrumentalist, writer, and producer. Nyte's signature style focuses on his uniquely rich and widely diverse vocal abilities, while his instrumentation ranges from minimalist acoustic guitar ballads to epic arrangements. The artist has released 7 solo albums as Ashton Nyte, and 1 as Ashton Nyte And The Accused, in addition to 10 albums as The Awakening, one of South Africa's most prominent alternative rock bands.

Ashton is considered to be the "musical chameleon" of South Africa and has been described in major press as "Johannesburg's Bowie" for his widely varying musical styles and theatrical performance approach. With a released catalogue of over 250 original songs, Ashton has had dozens of top ten singles and airplay on major independent radio stations around the world. Nyte's works have been featured on NPR/PRI in the USA, and he has performed live in-studio to 125 million listeners on the international radio show Border Crossings (Washington, DC). Nyte has toured extensively and headlined music festivals in the USA and South Africa to upwards of 30 000 people.

Ashton has written and performed in theatrical productions and organized philanthropic events including his “Rock Against Rape” concert series, and presenting a lecture series at US universities focusing on tolerance and acceptance. His first Afrikaans-language album, Moederland (April 2014) was named one of the top 10 albums of the year by Netwerk24.

From 2016 - 2018 Nyte completed a 17 date tour, spanning 12 European countries, as well as a national US tour and smaller European tour. He contributed vocals and lyrics to new albums by MGT (guitarist for Peter Murphy, The Mission, Gary Numan) as well as Michael Ciravolo’s “Beauty In Chaos” project, which includes members of The Cure, Cheap Trick, Ice-T, Ministry, The Mission and many more. The Nyte / Ciravolo composition “Bloodless And Fragile” was featured in the television program The Purge on the USA network in 2018.  

2019 saw Ashton working on the score of the movie Don't Let Go with composer Ethan Gold, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in January 2019. Ashton also contributed to the second and third Beauty Chaos releases and completed a 36 date European Tour with British indie artist Wayne Hussey (The Mission) in September / October 2019. Nyte released Waiting For A Voice, his 7th solo album, and his first book of poetry, short stories, and personal reflections in July 2020. He released The Awakening's 10th album, This Alchemy in May 2021.

Bookings and other enquiries